## THE MUNICIPAL CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF KILLALOE, HAGARTY AND RICHARDS

## **BY-LAW #50-2022**

Being a By-Law to appoint the Council Committees for 2022-2023 or until their successor(s) is/are appointed.

**WHEREAS** the *Municipal Act* S.O. 2001, as amended, Chapter 25, Section 8 (1) provides the powers to a municipality to enable the municipality to govern its affairs as it considers appropriate and to enhance the municipality's ability to respond to municipal issues.

**AND WHEREAS** the *Municipal Act* S.O. 2001, as amended, Chapter 25, Section 9, provides that a municipality has the capacity, right, powers and privileges of a natural person for the purposes of exercising its authority under this or any other Act;

**AND WHEREAS** Council deems it expedient and necessary to appoint Committees by By-Law to effectively and efficiently conduct and carry out municipal business.

**AND WHEREAS** related acts authorize the appointment of committees.

**NOW THEREFORE** the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards hereby enacts as follows:

**THAT** the following Council Committees for the ensuing year, or until their successors are appointed, will be chaired by the Chairperson as indicated in underlined bold as follows;

**AND THAT** in the absence of the Chairperson of the respective Council in Committees; the Co-Chair or designate will chair the meeting.

## 1. **COUNCIL IN COMMITTEES**:

Economic Development: Chair: Maureen MacMillan, Co-Chair: Bil Smith, Brian Pecoskie

Human Resources: Chair: Bil Smith, Co-Chair: Brian Pecoskie, Maureen MacMillan

Policies and Procedures: Chair: Carl Kuehl, Co-Chair: Ted Brown, Harold Lavigne

<u>Public Works, Public Service and Property:</u> Chair: Harold Lavigne, Co-Chair: Carl Kuehl, Ted Browne

Finance: Chair: Dave Mayville, Full Council

Planning: Chair: Brian Pecoskie, Co-Chair: Maureen MacMillan, Bil Smith

Protection and Emergency Management: Chair: Ted Browne, Co-Chair: Harold Lavigne,

Carl Kuehl

- 2. **THAT** the Mayor is a sitting member on all municipal committees.
- 3. THAT Council Representatives of Community Groups shall provide update reports to the Council in Committee.
- 4. **THAT** this By-Law shall be deemed to have come into force and effect as of the date of passing.

Read a first and second time this 6<sup>th</sup> day of December, 2022.

Read a third time and finally passed this 6<sup>th</sup> day of December, 2022.

Mayor – Dave Mayville	CAO Clerk-Treasurer – Tammy Gorgerat